The Ross McGlasson Award is a distinguished and unique Award of Excellence for lifetime community leadership. This award promotes and recognizes strong volunteer leadership, community involvement, and support of youth-oriented activities and services in the South Lake Minnetonka Area. We are seeking nominations through April 30, 2020.
Ross McGlasson is a founding member of the Excelsior Morning Rotary Club and has given back to the community in many ways, including serving as a Minnetonka School Board member and an active community volunteer.
Award Criteria
  • Multiple Organizations – Leadership in multiple community organizations and/or in the Minnetonka School District
  • Strong Leadership – Recognized leader and/or an extremely committed volunteer whose work inspires others
  • Legacy – Leaves a legacy of a stronger organization with a stronger vision
Past Recipients
  • 2018 - Nick Ruehl
  • 2017 - Frank Kuzma
  • 2016 - Tom Stevens
  • 2015 - Ron Kamps
Nomination Process
To make a nomination, answer the following questions. Here is a link to submit a nomination.
  • Nominee’s name and contact information.
  • List of the community organization(s), school(s), program(s) and/or activities where the nominee has volunteered.
  • Description of the leadership contributions and the results of their leadership. Detail of involvement in multiple organizations and specific leadership positions.
  • Description of the leadership characteristics that sets this nominee apart.
  • Share any additional reasons this nominee should be considered for this award.
  • Submit the nomination by April 30, 2020 online, by emailing Suzanne Kochevar, or mailing: Suzanne Kochevar, 24295 Wood Dr, Excelsior MN 55331
The award will be presented periodically, when exemplary nominees match the legacy of Ross McGlasson’s leadership and community service. Nominations are solicited by members of the Excelsior Morning Rotary Club.  Nominations are accepted of Rotary members and community members who meet the Award Criteria.  The Award will be presented at the Minnetonka School District Celebration of Excellence on May 14, 2020.  Nominations will be accepted until midnight on April 30, 2020.
The Award will include a Recognition Plaque and a $1,000 donation to the recipient’s charity of choice.